Local School Council » Local School Council

Local School Council

Morgan Park Local School Council Meeting Schedule

2023-2024 School Year
All meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month at 6:00pm. Meetings are in-person and conducted in the Library; please enter through Door 1.
  • August 16, 2023
  • September 20, 2023
  • October 18, 2023
  • November 15, 2023
  • December 20, 2023
  • January 17, 2024
  • February 21, 2024
  • March 20, 2024
  • April 17, 2024
  • May 15, 2024
  • June 19, 2024


In 1988, the Illinois State General Assembly passed PA85-1418 to reform the Chicago Public Schools. Each school has a Local School Council comprised of the principal, two certified teachers, six parents of students currently attending the school, and two community residents. The Council also has a non-voting student representative who is elected by the student body. The council members were elected for the first time on October 12, 1989. The Local School Council organizes succeeding elections in odd numbered years.

The Local School Council has the power to evaluate the performance of the principal; approve the principal's contract; select a new principal in the event of a vacancy or non renewed contract; and approve the expenditure plan and the improvement plan developed by the principal. The council must abide by the provisions of the Open Meetings Act and the Freedom of Information Act as well as all other applicable laws, court orders, funding restrictions, etc. A schedule of council meetings and a file of council minutes is available in the Main Office as well as below.


Daniel Kuzma (Principal)
Carisa Parker (Parent Representative) CHAIRPERSON
Nedra Everett-Wilson (Parent Representative) 
Janis Taylor-Alston (Parent Representative) VICE-CHAIRPERSON
Sharita Webb (Parent Representative)
Kandace Brown (Parent Representative)
Crystal Coleman (Parent Representative)
Demond Blakely (Student Representative)
Alunya Cotton (Student Representative)
Jakayla Jackson-Bowman (Student Representative)
Delena Henry (Non-Teaching Staff Member) PARLIMENTARIAN
Carletha Becton (Teacher Representative)
Michael Berger (Teacher Representative)
Peggy Goddard (Community Representative) SECRETARY
Subria Whitaker (Community Representative) FOIA OFFICER